Commission Report Launch: The Accuracy of Fact Witness Memory in Arbitration

19 Jan 2021

Online English
Start: 08:00 (New York) | 13:00 (London) | 14:00 (CET) | 21:00 (Singapore)

Join us to launch the latest ICC Commission Report "The Accuracy of Fact Witness Memory in International Arbitration: Current Issues and Possible Solutions. The quality of this Report in a difficult field such as the probative value of witness evidence in arbitration demonstrate that the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR continues to play a leading role by continuing to address complex issues in an in-depth and innovative manner.

The ICC created a Task Force whose mandate was to look at current practices for the preparation and presentation of fact witness evidence in international arbitration and examine whether these practices are themselves potentially corrupting the very evidence that arbitral tribunals rely upon for the fair resolution of disputes. The Report examines the science of human memory and considers whether there are modifications that could be made to current practices, or alternative approaches that could be adopted, in order maximise the accuracy of fact witness evidence in international arbitration.

The Task Force counted over 152 participants from across the ICC Network. The Report was developed by the Task Force over a period of nearly 3 years and benefitted from substantial input from the Commission on Arbitration and ADR and National Committees, as well as eminent psychologists specialising in human memory from the University of Warwick.

Who should attend?

  • International arbitration practitioners
  • Arbitrators
  • Arbitral institutions and
  • Academics.

14:00 – 14:15

Toby Landau QC, Christopher Newmark

14:15 – 14:30

Dr Kimberley Wade, José Astigarraga

14:30 – 15:00

Dr Ula Cartwright-Finch, Ragnar Harbst, Susanne Gropp-Stadler

15:00 – 15:15

Q&A

Moderated by Dr Hélène van Lith

José Astigarraga

Co-Chair of the Task Force;

Partner, Reed Smith, Miami

Dr Ula Cartwright-Finch

Scientific Advisor to the Task Force;

Managing Director, Cortex Capital, London

Ragnar Harbst

Co-Chair of the Task Force;

Partner, Baker & McKenzie, Frankfurt

Toby Landau QC

Essex Court Chambers, Singapore

Dr Hélène van Lith

ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR, ICC International Court of Arbitration, Paris

Christopher Newmark

Immediate Past Chair, ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR;

Partner, Spenser Underhill Newmark LLP, London

Susanne Gropp-Stadler

Vice Chair, ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR;

Lead Counsel and Head of Litigation, Siemens AG, Munich

Dr Kimberley Wade

Scientific Advisor to the Task Force;

Cognitive Psychologist, Department of Psychology, University of Warwick, Coventry

For further information, please contact:

Ms Jennifer Jones

Assistant to the ICC Commission on Arbitration and ADR

commission.arbitrationADR@iccwbo.org

Organisers

Registration