ICC YAF: Extension of Arbitration Agreements to Third Parties

22 Sep 2021

Online English
Start: 09:30 (New York) | 15:30 (Paris) | 16:30 (Istanbul) | 21:30 (Singapore)

End: 17:00 (Paris) | 18:00 (Istanbul)

In international arbitration, the extension of arbitration agreements or arbitral awards to individuals or entities that are not part to the arbitration agreement has been a controversial matter discussed among different jurisdictions.

The purpose of the webinar is to address:

  • The concept and importance of extension and problems that may arise due to the extension of arbitration agreements,
  • Underlying theories, the procedural legal foundation, and the legal foundation of the merits giving rise to this extension under Turkish law, and
  • Recent arbitral awards, as well as high court decisions rendered in different jurisdictions, will provide insight on the subject.

In this session, experienced and distinguished panelists will guide the audience by taking different perspectives such as the perspective of the third-party funder, party counsel, and arbitrator.

Who should attend?

All young arbitration and ADR practitioners 40 years and under, regardless of their professional background.

16:30-16:40 

Introductory Remarks

  • Ceren Çakır, ICC YAF Representative for Turkey 2019-2021; Partner, ECC Law, Istanbul

16:40-17:40 

Panel Discussions

Speakers:

  • Sumru Akter, Legal Counsel, Omni Bridgeway, Amsterdam
  • Mustafa Mert Dicle, Associate, Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Attorney Partnership, Istanbul
  • Seher Elif Köse Özgüç, Associate, Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Attorney Partnership, Istanbul

Moderated by:

  • Berk Demirkol, Associate Professor, University of Galatasaray, Istanbul 

17:40-18:00

Moderator’s Remarks / Q & A

Sumru Akter

Legal Counsel, Omni Bridgeway, Amsterdam

Berk Demirkol, Moderator

Associate Professor, University of Galatasaray, Istanbul

Mustafa Mert Dicle

Associate, Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Attorney Partnership, Istanbul

Seher Elif Köse Özgüç

Associate, Hergüner Bilgen Özeke Attorney Partnership, Istanbul

Date and venue

22 September 2021

Online

Disclaimer When you click to register for the event above, you leave the ICC website and are re-directed to the registration platform used by the event co-organizer. Your personal information will be collected by this registration platform and the event co-organizer in accordance with their own privacy policies. Among other things, the privacy policy provides that the event co-organizer will share your personal data with ICC for the purpose of providing event services (videoconference access and password) and, if you consent, for the purpose of communicating information on ICC Arbitration and ADR.

For registration or more information, please contact:

Ceren Çakır

ICC YAF Representative for Turkey

Organiser

Partner