ICC YAF: Do all roads lead to Arbitration?

01 Jun 2021

Online English
11:00 (Lagos) | 12:00 (Paris) | 13:00 (Nairobi)

Join us for this conversation-style event to learn about leveraging a diverse profile to explore the many roads available to break into international arbitration.

This event organised on the occasion of the 5th ICC Africa Conference on International Arbitration is intended for young African practitioners to discover the arbitration journey of leading African dispute resolution practitioners and hear about the bumps in the road as well as the successes they have encountered along the way. These personal conversations will also afford participants the opportunity to directly address the speakers with their questions and get advice as to what it takes to make it in international arbitration.

(Lagos Time Zone)

11:00 – 11:30

Networking: let’s meet at the networking tables!

11:30 – 11:45

Becoming a successful Academic and Practitioner – Emilia Onyema’s journey to Arbitration

11:45 – 12:00

Becoming a successful Counsel – Thierry Ngoga’s journey to Arbitration

12:00 – 12:15

Becoming a successful Institutional arbitration specialist – Diamana Diawara’s journey to Arbitration

12:15 – 12:30

Becoming a successful Arbitrator – Abayomi Okubote's journey to Arbitration

Laura Alakija

Managing Partner, Primera Legal, Lagos

Mahamat Atteib

Associate, Geni & Kebe, DLA Piper Africa, Dakar

Diamana Diawara

Director, ICC Arbitration and ADR, Africa, ICC International Court of Arbitration

Thierry Ngoga

Managing Partner, Legal Line Partners, Kigali

Abayomi Okubote

Senior Associate & Team Lead, Olaniwun Ajayi LP, Abuja

 

Emilia Onyema

Professor, SOAS University of London

For further information, please contact:

Laura Alakija

Managing Partner, Primera Legal, Lagos

Organiser

Registration