ICC YAF–ASAb40: ICC’s new rules compared with other institutions' rules

21 Jan 2021

Online English
12:30 (CET)

A comparison of the new ICC Rules, the LCIA Rules and the Swiss Rules: And the "winner" is…?"

When parties are considering which rules to apply to their disputes, a comparison between the arbitration rules of major international arbitration institutions becomes a necessity.

Recent modifications of the ICC and LCIA rules introduce some notable amendments and innovative features. The latest updates made by these rules also address new pandemic-related concerns and recognise the increasing use of technology. In this race to address and satisfy arbitration users' concerns, how can other arbitration rules, such as the Swiss Rules, play their card right to remain at the vanguard of arbitration rules.

In other words, which arbitration rules, if any, reflect the best the modern practice of arbitration? This is what Prof. Patricia Saiz, Myfanwy Wood, and Dr. Stefanie Pfisterer will try to answer during a debate moderated by Dr. Joseph Schwartz.

 Who should attend?

  • All lawyers specialising in dispute resolution
  • in-house counsel with an interest in arbitration
  • (upcoming) arbitrators and
  • experts involved in arbitration.


Opening Remarks

  • Sebastiano Nessi, FCIArb, ICC YAF Representative; Counsel, Schellenberg Wittmer, Geneva

12:35 – 13:35

Panel Discussion


  • Prof. Patricia Saiz
  • Myfanwy Wood
  • Dr. Stefanie Pfisterer


  • Dr. Joseph Schwartz

13:35 – 13:45

Concluding remarks

  • Flavio Peter, FCIArb, ASA below 40 Co-chair

Flavio Peter

FCIArb, ASA below 40 Co-chair, Counsel, Wenger & Vieli, Zurich

Dr. Stefanie Pfisterer

Partner, Homburger, Zurich

Dr. Joseph Schwartz

Partner, Wagner Arbitration, Berlin

Prof. Patricia Saiz

Professor of International Arbitration and Director of International Relations at ESADE Law School, Barcelona; Alternate Member, ICC International Court of Arbitration

Myfanwy Wood

Partner, Ashurst, London

For further information, please contact:

Sebastiano Nessi

Flavio Peter