Covid-19 and the Technology Sector: A New State of Play for Dispute Resolution?

01 Jul 2020

Online English
Start: 09.00 (New York) 15:00 (CET) 17:00 (Dubai) 21.00 (Singapore)

This webinar is the first edition of the webinar series co-organized with ICC UAE which will cover a range of economic sectors seriatim.

This webinar will examine how the technology sector has been affected by Covid-19 and will also discuss the long-term consequences and identify the future trends. 

Both the transactional and disputes resolution perspectives will be tackled on this roundtable. Speakers will shed the light on timely legal issues raised from emerging challenges and opportunities from an international outlook combined with a Middle Eastern perspective.

•Short term and long-term ramifications of Covid-19 on the Technology industry
•What approaches were adopted by the stakeholders and in-house counsels on the re-negotiation of pending contracts due to the disruption in the supply chain?
•Collaborative approach (redistribution of risks) ' vs Court Litigation? / Arbitration vs Mediation?
•Beyond the short-term response, what will be the durable shifts in light of the long-term digital disruption that will shape businesses for decades to come?
•What are the growth opportunities for many providers of IT solutions (cloud computing, data centres ...) with the increased digitalization across economic sectors?

Welcome Note:

Sami Houerbi

Director, ICC Arbitration and ADR, Eastern Mediterranean, Middle-East & Africa, ICC International Court of Arbitration; Founding Partner, Houerbi Law Firm

Speakers:

Thierry Calame

Partner Lenz & Staehelin, Arbitrator

Joanne Fischlin

Head of Corp, Ext, Legal Affairs, Microsoft

Clemens Heusch

VP, Global Head of Dispute Resolution, Nokia

Nasser Khasawneh

Partner, Eversheds Sutherland

Moderator:

Dania Fahs

Deputy Director, ICC Arbitration and ADR, MENA, ICC International Court of Arbitration

For further information, please contact: 

Fahs Dania

Organisers

Partner

Registration