5th International Day of Women and Girls in Science

11-12 Feb 2020

New York English

The 5th International Day of Women and Girls in Science Assembly theme is on driving Investment in Equality in Science, Technology, and Innovation in the Digitalization Era for Inclusive Green Growth with special focus on Agriculture, Technology and Digital Economy.

Day 1
Day 2


High-Level Opening Segment/From Dream to Reality: Five Years Achievements/ Moderator: Lara Bevan-Shiraz, Girls in Science Advocate


High-Level Panel on: Equality in Science, Technology and Innovation: Global Trends and Challenges/ Moderator: H.E. Ambassador Katalin Bogyay, Permanent Representative of Hungary to the United Nations


Press Conference: Launching the Book, #February11 for Socio-Economic Sustainable Development


High-Level Panel on: Equality in Agricultural Science, Technology and Innovation for Inclusive Green Growth


Official Statement/ H.E Mr. Tijjani Muhammad-Bande, President of the 74th Session of the United Nations General Assembly


High-Level Panel on: Digital Economy and Society: Empowering Women in Science Innovation for Sustainable Development / Moderator: Ms. Reema Khan, Founder and CEO of Green Sands Equity


Conversation with Visionary minds on: Placing Emerging Technologies and Innovation at the Service of Sustainable Development: Towards Equal Future


High-Level Session on: Reshaping Economic Development through Empowerment of Women in Science


Closing Ceremony

Mr. M. Ilker Aycı

Chairman of the Board of Directors and the Executive Committee, Turkish Airlines

Ms. Amber Barth

Senior Programme Officer, ILO Office for the United Nations

Mr. Kimball Chen

Chairman of The Global LPG Partnership

Olivia Cohn

Girls in Science

Dr Justine Durno

Only Deaf Medical Doctor, United Kingdom

Professor Mauro Ferrari

President of the European Research Council

Mr. Antonio Gutteres

Secretary-General, United Nations

HRH Princess Dr Nisreen El-Hashemite

Executive Director, Royal Academy of Science International Trust

HRH Prince Zain El-Hashemite

Founder of the “Y 4 X” Global Initiative for Equality in Science

Dr. MJ Khan

Chairman, Chamber of Food and Agriculture, New Delhi, Delhi, India

Gulbakhor Makhkamova

Founder, Board Chair, National Association of Businesswomen of Tajikistan

Dr Rachael McDonnell

Strategic Program Director, Water, Climate Change and Resilience, International Water Management Institute – Rome

Dr. Kamana Misra

Founder – ContraRx; President, Association for Women in Science New Jersey Chapter

Ms. Josephine Rodgers

Executive Director, Access Agriculture

Ms. Denise Rutherford

Senior Vice-President of Corporate Affairs, 3M

Camille Schrier

Miss America 2020, Women in Science

Ms. Aylin Sezgin

Founding Vice-President, Tohum Autism Foundation

Ms. Shamika Sirimanne

Division on Technology and Logistics UNCTAD

Dr. Michel Spiro

President of IUPAP (International Union of Pure and Applied Physics)

Dr. Danielle Stoldika

Senior Fellow, Canadian International Council

Dr Shirley Tarawali

Assistant Director-General and Secretary to the Board of Trustees, The International Livestock Research Institute

Ms. Ola Zahran

Head of Coordination Office in New York, WIPO

Venue: United Nations Headquarters in New York

Leticia Rios

Events Assistant